Poets logo

To A Young Lady, Who Was Fond Of Fortune-Telling

No secrets else that mortals learn...

By Mohan AdhakariPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
To A Young Lady, Who Was Fond Of Fortune-Telling
Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

You, Madam, may, with safety go

Decrees of destiny to know;

For at your birth kind planets reign'd,

And certain happiness ordained:

Such charms as yours are only given

To chosen favourites of Heaven.

But such is my uncertain state

'Tis dangerous to try my fate;

For I would only know from art

The future motions of your heart,

And what predestinated doom

Attends my love for years to come,

No secrets else that mortals learn

My cares deserve, or life concern;

But this will so important be

I dread to search the dark decree;

For while the smallest hope remains

Faint joys are mingled with my pains.

Vain distant views my fancy please,

And give some intermitting ease;

But should the stars too plainly show

That you have doom'd my endless wo,

No human force or art could bear

The torment of my wild despair.

This secret then I dare not know,

And other truths are useless now.

What matters if, unbless'd in love,

How long or short my life will prove?

To gratify what low desire

Should I with needless haste inquire,

How great how wealthy I shall be?

Oh, what is wealth or power to me!

If I am happy or undone,

It must proceed from you alone.

Original Auther - Matthew Prior

art
Like

About the Creator

Mohan Adhakari

I am a cyclist, I love riding to new places closely mountains.

After all, I love writing as my Hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.