Poets logo

Timelines

Derailing is normal. Acceptance is different.

By Emmily SorgePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

My timeline was set, I lined up my tracks,

I started my engine and never looked back.

First stop was graduation, high school was hard, but I made it, and my next stop wasn't too far.

Just a few thousand miles, direction? Down south, this was not part of my plan, but I laid my tracks down.

And I made it, my second stop was recovery, I had to rebuild. I'm new here, it's time to show off some skills.

But my cars derailed not even halfway, my timeline disagreed with the tracks that I laid.

Doctor Seuss would be proud of the time I spent writing, i started working and spent my free time fighting.

I had to find a way out. Okay new plan, I spent nights and days laying track out by hand.

Job, college, I'll move out and find a man, well get married, have babies and I'll show everyone where I stand. I'll make it all work. I'll live the Rahman life if need be. Fuck everyone, in two years tops it'll be me doing me.

So I set out again, I worked 3 jobs non stop and then I started spending and nails began to pop. Right off the tracks again, another car down. I've been here your years, still in grandma's house.

No babies, 2shitty jobs, no savings, no ring. But im halfway done with school though and my man is amazing.

My point is, i learned to not lay track down so far ahead because if my cars derail it'll Just be disappointing. So now I lay track as I go every stop or two. My train is still running and I've paid my do's. Life still tries to run me off my tracks, and every now and then it happens, but I'm not mad. Life isn't meant to be planned, there is no straight lie. You can't plan it out to a T, You can't set a time, but expect stops along the way because every now and then your engine will need a break. And during those times, take a minute to look back, look at all the ground you've covered and who's followed in your tracks. Treat them with kindness, offer them a drink, chances are they've derailed too

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emmily Sorge

Aspiring journalist, short story writer, and poet.

All things life & love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.