Poets logo

Timeline

Floetry by Lady Psyren

By Lady PsyrenPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I used to blame everything in my timeline

For the way that my timeline

Bloomed into this new timeline

Let’s start at birth, don’t worry I’ll skip a few years

But, abandoned to soon, I was born where my “father” didn’t appear

Too young to understand

It doesn’t take being absent to be a man

He appeared with some other woman

And a child who had a new toy...

While I had...nothing....man

Shuttled to stay with other family

While my mom went to work and school

Again, too young to understand

That another man can be a fool

For he was “Show me on the doll where he touched you” kind of uncle

Moving on to school and making friends

I was too quiet and shy to make any friends

Yet here they come asking time and time again

“How can you smile when you been through so much...pain”

Thanks to my timeline

I knew that my timeline

Had something to do

with the way my timeline was unfolding

This

Was undoubtedly true

Didn’t really get a boyfriend

Until I started college

But because of my timeline

I didn’t really have the knowledge

Of how a man should treat me

No doubt,

I was beginning to think it was me

Am I too fat?

Am I too black?

Am I too strong?

Of course my family saw nothing was wrong

So I hid in my corner

Sad and became a loner

As friends moved on

It’s fine I was use to be alone

It’s fine...I’m use to being alone

Alone in my corner

Sitting in the dark

Thanks timeline

You know how to play the part

Dark

Depressed

Wearing black because now

That’s the way I dress

Bagging clothing

Didn’t really give a damn

No one else did

My whole timeline was a sham

Everyone I met

Ended up leaving me and yet

Because of my past I got numb

.....numb....no feeling and yet

Let’s make matters worse!

Let’s move 10hrs away!

Sure that’s fine with me!

My friends don’t care anyways!

Bags packed!

Let’s go!

My past is no more!

Let’s make a new timeline on our way out the door!

Nope!...No sun

Just bitter cold

Great now I’m cold and alone

Guess I’ll go back to feeling numb

Oh great, A guy is speaking to me

Oh, Please go away

Leave me in my deep dark corner

You wouldn’t want me any way

No, please don’t get to know me

Don’t try to love me

Don’t try and hold me

Don’t try to tell me I’m beautiful

See my timeline warned me

No guy is this soulful

No guy in his right mind

Would ever love me this full

*Gasps* he makes me laugh

He makes me smile

He tells me time and time again

To not let my timeline make me senile

He gives me a different outlook

We vibe together

He challenges my mind

We ride together

So here I am 7 years later

And even though my timeline

Has made it hard...

It could have only turned out for the better

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Lady Psyren

I am an independent artist and writer based in Milwaukee, WI. I've always enjoyed writing and I use nature to help me do it. I write Hip-Hop/R&B and Video Game Music. My poetry is usually about the world as I see it and my culture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.