Poets logo

Time's Relentless March

Reflection of My Life

By Khudair Ahmed ShaikhPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Oh cruel fate, why dost thou mock me so?

For though my heart doth yearn to be with those

Whose presence doth my soul with joy bestow,

The weight of work doth hold me in its throes.

My child's wife's parents, whom I hold dear,

Do wait upon me with bated breath and hope,

But duty's call doth drown their voices clear,

And on this occasion, once again, I mope.

The clock ticks on, relentless in its march,

And with each passing moment, my heart doth ache,

For though my mind be filled with work's harsh starch,

My soul doth long for love's sweet embrace.

My child doth look at me with pleading eyes,

And though I try to mask my deep regret,

I know my absence doth cut him like a knife,

And in my heart, a wound doth still beget.

Oh, how I wish that I could turn back time,

And be there when my loved ones need me most,

But alas, the demands of work are prime,

And all my efforts to be with them are lost.

So let this be a warning to all who hear,

That though we strive to be the best we can,

Sometimes, in life, duty must take its sphere,

And we must bear the burden of our plan.

For time waits for no man, nor does it care,

And though we long for moments to be shared,

Sometimes we must resign ourselves to bear,

The heavy weight of duty, though it be unfair.

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalheartbreakchildrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Khudair Ahmed Shaikh

As a content writer, I specialize in creating engaging and informative articles, blogs, and poems on a variety of topics. If you are interested in taking my writing service

Email me: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.