Poets logo

Time for Summer

it was nice while it lasted

By Michele CuomoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Time for Summer
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

I won’t compare you to a Summer’s day

You are a lot cooler than that I think

Your season’s Winter, not June and not May

Your color is blue, not red and not pink

I long for warm breezes that summers bring

Though yours is refreshing as a cold swim

I hope to hear the birds from the south sing

And go to the beach if I had the whim

How long can I endure your frosty gaze?

You do make me shiver, that is quite true

Yet I wish for easier, balmy days

Ones that I don’t think I can share with you

It’s that magical time, the end of Spring

I’ll fly away like a bird on the wing

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Michele Cuomo

seeking. writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.