Poets logo

TikTok ain't the sound that the clock makes

Moonrocks knockin' socks off, a toker takes

By Benny ShlesingerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
TikTok ain't the sound that the clock makes
Photo by Matthew Wiebe on Unsplash

TikTok ain’t the sound that the clock makes

And moonrocks knockin socks off, a toker takes

Times are changing and you know what they all say

Move along anyway

Live to fight another day

All the stop signs fell to the sidelines

Now the referees are playing for a bad time

All the stress and we turn to the divine

Praying for an offsides

Hoping we can feel alive

Mother lost me at the age of eighteen

Father told me Time’s not for wasting

Home Sweet Home ain’t a place of plenty

Need to find my own feet

Taking on the driver’s seat

I was home, but my soul was roamin

Opportunity kept on phonin

I had to leave, had to seize my moment

See my spirit glowing

Where am I going?

Cuz TikTok ain’t the sound that the clock makes

And moonrocks knockin socks off, a toker takes

Times are changing and you know what they all say

Move along anyway

Live to fight another day

And if God has seat at the table

Tell him I’m playing one of his angels

Had enough of his myths and fables

Calling his bluff

Before I left my cradle

I built this house and made my own Home

A space where I can be free and alone

A place where I can kick my shoes off, but uh-oh

Nobody told me

Life is for the faithful

And I’d left my heart, my friends, my family

To grow and rise and build and show ‘em what I could be

They never cared, but yet I could never see

Home is where the heart is

That’s where all your people be

Still TikTok ain’t the sound that the clock makes

And moonrocks knockin socks off, a toker takes

Times are changing and you know what they all say

Move along anyway

Live to fight another day

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Benny Shlesinger

Amateur philosopher, avid keyboard pitter-patterer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.