Poets logo

Thylacine

The Tasmanian Tiger

By Josh ClementsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Postcard of 'Tasmanian Marsupial Wolf' - the Thylacine. Hobart Zoo c. 1928 (G.P. Whitley Papers Australian Museum Archives) - Image Harry Burrell, Public Domain

Walking in Cradle mountain,

The Southern point,

Of the Southerlty world.

I see the Echidna,

The Wallaby, and

Tasmanian Devils,

Lumbering in the bush.

And a duck-billed platypus

Confounds,

As it slips below the water.

In the oceans by St Helen’s,

Dolphin and seals abound.

-

I wander without,

Over wetlands, grasslands,

rivers and lakes.

I wonder why I wander,

What this could do without.

-

For a moment, a shadow,

A passing rustle,

A stolen glance.

For will I see it,

Even by night,

Or will a rock painting,

Spring it back to life.

-

My joy is bleak,

The jungle bare,

As a Thylacine,

A Tasmanian Tiger,

Greets me in my sleep.

For when I awake

In an empty land,

There are no tigers there.

I feel as exitinct,

But not as rare.

surreal poetrysad poetrynature poetrychildrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Josh Clements

Trying to write when my health allows. Fatal Bus Crash Survivor. Spinal Disability. ADHD. PTSD.

Scribbling with a tear and a smile 🥲

Twitter: @JoshClements89

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • liellabout a year ago

    Thylacines: almost as rare as a pencil case

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.