Poets logo

Thunder Shadows

A collection of mini poems

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
7

When the darkness engulfed me

You were my starlight

Guiding me to see

I can be my own knight

***************************************

He clipped my wings because he doesn’t want me to fly

He burned my confidence because he doesn’t want me to try

He roared with thunder ripping me apart

All because I gave him my heart

****************************************

Hidden in the shadows

Absorbing my fears

Composed of dead dreams

Drops of love lost and mourned

Murdered hope that lingers on

Forfeited friendship

Wisps of regrets coiled inside

Pallid with melancholy

You will find my ghost

******************************************

Our love created a universe for just me and you

A world where we can go, get lost in what we do

Our love created a pathway through the stars

A journey to cherish built on this love of ours

*******************************************

You’re my favorite notification

I cherish every conversation

*********************************************

Rain taps a rhythm on my window

Thunder rumbles as I see your shadow

Lightning strikes and you disappear

Clouds weep. It was like you were never here

*************************************************

Smoke reaches above

Majestic flames dancing bright

Stunning inferno

***************************************************

Ten years ago was when we met

A loving day I’ll never forget

My heart exploded

Bliss overloaded

I kissed you on your tiny head

I will love you forever I said

*****************************************************

Overcrowded brain

Driving me insane

Fear calls out hello

I am my own foe

Worries eat me alive

Straining to survive

Regrets that steal

Will I ever heal?

**********************************************************

Sunshine lights me up happy

Chasing away all that’s crappy

The warmth and the light

Making my mood bright

Burning away my gloom

Unsealing my tomb

Reprieve from stress

Forcing me to confess

Sunshine is the best

**********************************************************

The golden glow of sunrise

Greets me as I open my eyes

This is my favorite way

To kick off a brand new day

**********************************************************

Everyone told me “Little boys are trouble”

The day you were born my heart grew double

Sometimes you may have climbed high trees

Or finished a family hike with banged up knees

But, you always jump to give a helping hand

I’m so proud of my not-so-little man

You would do anything to make someone smile

Friendly, funny and chill is your style

What an honor it is to be the one you call mom

**************************************************************

Stuck words grow stale on my tongue

Lyrics composed, they linger unsung

I have much to say yet I sit and stay mum

Longing to speak the words don't come

****************************************************************

Autumn rain, tapping on my roof

The steady beat is further proof

This is a good day to snuggle up

Pour something warm into your cup

Autumn rain, going pitter patter

Touching down with a splatter

I'm snuggled up cozy and warm

Safe inside during this autumn storm

Instagram: Storiesbyaurora_

excerpts
7

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.