Poets logo

Through her eyes

Two worlds

By Glory AlabaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
16

When I close my eyes, I enter a different world

Where everything is calm, bright and warm

I see the colors of the rainbow and hear the songs of the birds

I feel the breeze on my skin and the grass under my feet

I wish I could stay in this world forever

But when I open my eyes, I face a harsh reality

Where everything is dark and cold and loud

I see the shadows of the night and hear the screams of the crowd

I feel the pain in my chest and the tears on my face

I wish I could escape from this reality forever

Is there a way to make my reality more like my dreams?

To find some peace and joy in this chaotic life?

Or am I doomed to only be happy when I sleep?

To live in a fantasy that will never come true?

In my dreams, I find a place of wonder and delight

Where the sun is shining and the sky is bright

Where I can be free and happy and do what I like

Where I can forget my troubles and enjoy the sight

But in reality, I face a world of sorrow and strife

Where the moon is hiding and the stars are dim

Where I feel trapped and lonely and everything is grim

Where I remember my problems and suffer every night

How can I make reality more like my dreams?

How can I find some peace in this noisy mess?

Or am I destined to only be happy in my sleep?

To live in a fantasy that will never be real?

sad poetry
16

About the Creator

Glory Alaba

Seeing that there are many people out there who can’t fully express or understand their emotions, it gives me peace to pen down words that many can relate to.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Wow! Beautiful poem!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    This is lovely Glory. There is light just around the corner. Great first story. Hope to see much more.

  • ifedayo babalola8 months ago

    Wow!! This hit personally. Please continue feeding my soul.

  • Samuel Victor8 months ago

    This is a very nice one. Big Ups for this. ❤❤

  • Adegoke Saheed8 months ago

    Thank you for this beautiful piece. Looking forward to more from you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.