Poets logo

Through Different Eyes

A short poem

By J.M. MoonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

It's a nice day, but I can't afford it

To see the world through different eyes

Not burdened by worry

Free to see colours in all their glory

*

Along this path on my way to work

A guiding constraint for what awaits

Trapped free in this prison

Slave to a paycheck, subservient to rent

*

A brief moment of freedom as I walk

I see the greens of the world

Luscious and lapping the streets

I see blues tuning into the morning late

Stretching out for the long day ahead

I see earthy browns rooted in the ground

Reaching up to grasp green friends

*

My eyes lie to me

This is someone else's world I am seeing

Someone with time and money to enjoy it

I just suffer a ticking clock and push hopes uphill

Only to see them slip beyond my grasp and roll away.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

J.M. Moon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.