Poets logo

Three Colors Strong

Red Green Blue

By Richard SoullierePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@sharonmccutcheon?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Sharon McCutcheon</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/red-green-blue?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

Excuse the black, white, or even yellow

considering that, if they were people,

I would only ever see green.

Amanda Marshall's song can suck it!

Grey ain’t always grey - and pink,

Shit, it’s either red, blue, or a super funky green.

People keep saying it’s everywhere,

And yet, I keep coming back to one thing,

The one thing I must stop making me feel stuck.

Listening. Sometimes you really shouldn’t.

Journalism? Corroboration is cool,

But in the end, the color you see is a choice. Your choice.

Don’t waste your time barking up a tree -

a lesson I learn with every tree standing proud

in front of a brick building.

Brick and bark is all the same with your response:

If you listen, it’s imprisonment;

if you conjure your own magic, it’s freedom.

Tell me how getting lost in words,

in a world with plenty to see,

should ever form more than 10% of your perception.

I am not talking about Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter...and Spring

or trying to see a blue sky you can only take for granted;

Try being particular.

It matters, the thing being described;

NOT an arbitrary attribute.

You can communicate without them.

Tell me you love me without red.

If you are red, show me without pointing,

for 'me' and 'you' are the what, how, and why.

Colors can only accentuate a small fraction where

some prefer fractals that are flowers.

I prefer knowing I have chosen what to see: you.

-------------------

If you have really liked what you’ve read, please share with your friends (email, text, or social media). As always, feel free to check out other things I have written here on Vocal.

Thank you!

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Richard Soulliere

Bursting with ideas, honing them to peek your interest.

Enjoyes blending non-fiction into whatever I am writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.