Poets logo

Thoughts from the chronic abyss

The gravity of understanding one another

By KitPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

There was a time

Where my voice would fall onto deaf ears

Expressing my pain, they turned a blind eye

They silenced me;

“At least it’s not cancer?”

“At least it’s not a big deal?”

“At least you’re not suffering?”

They silenced me until

I sunk into darkness,

Until my existence turned to

Black

And through the darkness shone a thought

To never let anyone feel the way they made me feel

To listen

To comfort

To learn to look beyond

Do not let my eyes deceive me

As those who looked the other way

Whilst I crawled, whilst I begged

In the dark

And the darkness faded into light

And the light illuminated my world

Filling me with golden rays and silver beams

Showing me that my physical limitations

Were nothing compared to the warmth radiating from within

Or my ability to truly

See

Hear

Feel

To understand the pain of others

Even when their voices fell on deaf ears

Even when a blind eye was turned

Even when they were silenced

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.