Poets logo

Thoughts about an Oreo

Middle Lessons

By Shirley BelkPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
How do you eat an Oreo?

How is it that you only remember the beginning and the end? It was the middle that gave us so much trouble and divided us.

The middle gave us ground to sort through and listen, but we held on so tightly to our way, neither giving not even an inch.

I'm trying to learn from the middle now and I hope you are, too. Maybe there will be a revelation, a truth, and some forgiveness.

The middle gives us both a gift, you know. The capacity to be better, you and me. Maybe there will never be an us, and it's okay.

It will be okay if we accept the gift from the middle. I hope it makes life sweeter for you and for me, too. We can move on easier then.

Life isn't exactly like an Oreo, though...or is it? Can we gobble up the middle and still have no regret for having left just the outsides?

The middle is also the sweetest part. The outsides are a bit bitter left for last. Maybe the lesson is to eat the whole cookie together for a perfect bite.

Stream of Consciousness

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Grogu23 days ago

    Let us eat the middle of the oreo. 😁

  • D.K. Shepard24 days ago

    What a wonderful extension from the simplicity of an Oreo! Well done, Shirley!

  • Ameer Bibi24 days ago

    A very deep meaning what I have learned that is "life has both tastes, bitter and sweet as well, for living a happy, healthy life we need to taste both" isn't it?

  • I just know that there's a deeper meaning to this but I'm too dumb to get it so I'll just talk about Oreo. I like having it with milk. I don't twist, lick and dunk. I just dunk it and put thw whole thing in my mouth hehehehe

  • Oh what a glory it is! Fantastic work through Oreos! I'll try to think one of them next time when I eat!!!

  • John Cox24 days ago

    The bakery I worked in bought Hydrox cookie outsides sans the creamy filling and ground them into crumbs to make crusts for their chocolate pudding pies. I always preferred Hydrox to Oreos, personally. Loved your use of metaphor in the story. Eating the whole Oreo is a compromise since what we really want is a tub of that creamy filling.

  • Jay Kantor24 days ago

    S ~ Anybody 'Accept' your Cookies to read on with this? How Sweet it is....! J

  • angela hepworth24 days ago

    Such a creative symbolic idea! Loved it Shirley!

Shirley BelkWritten by Shirley Belk

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.