Poets logo

This stranger at my back

A Poem

By S E McCarthyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

I’ve never seen this stranger at my back

But in my weakest moments his stench

Emanates from puss-filled pores.

The acrid sulphur of devil’s brimstone

Mixed with bargain store cologne

Reeks and invades my nostrils, lingering

With the resolve of a sun-drenched corpse.

I’ve never seen this stranger at my back

But in my weakest moments I feel him quiver

And vibrate with perverse eagerness.

He cowers, loitering uninvited behind my

Left shoulder; the unwanted presence of

A lecher cornering his young charge with

The relish of fulfilling unspeakable desires.

I’ve never seen this stranger at my back

But in my weakest moments I see him

In my mind in all his horrid glory -

Lank scarecrow hair, Jaundice-faced, and

Crooked tobacco-stained teeth.

Bony fingers click and writhe and squirm

A razor’s width from my shoulder blades.

I’ve never seen this stranger at my back

But in my weakest moments I hear

His black mamba words – a forked

Tongue pierces my brain accurate as

A doctor’s needle, injecting serpentine

Suggestions with soft, gentle hisses;

Venomous words taunt me to self-harm.

I’ve never seen this stranger at my back

Because when I turn to catch him

There is only the vague shadow

Of a monster beyond reach.

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetry
2

About the Creator

S E McCarthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.