Poets logo

This love is forever

Love can last for as long as we want it to

By mak Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The train is coming in an hour,

and your hair is beautiful.

Your hair is so beautiful.

I want to put my hands

through it

and pin you against a headboard. Sometimes, when we are walking,

I can’t help but think about the way my hand could fit behind your waist,

the way I could guide you.

Sometimes, when we are kissing,

I want to ask you if you’ve done this before.

If you’ve been in love or

if you’ve ever wanted to lay someone to bed.

Watch the way they twist and turn

between twilight hours.

Fold them inch by inch,

until the world is soft and large

next to their shoulders.

Have you ever recognized love as the only way to move forward

because here I am,

waking up with more tomorrows.

On Sunday,

the world glows orange,

and you tell me this is your favourite colour.

Mandarin kisses and sugar drizzling on grapefruit.

We rise to sunlight

and bake chocolate chip cookies

that fill us to the brim.

The softness melting into the space between your hands

and mine.

Right where we could shiver together

and be one body

Ready to create another world.

I love you in a thousand and one ways. I can’t say it in any of them,

but I am a lover in moving motion.

To show love is to conquer

what has been stirring in my heart.

I will dig up each stone

and tell you their secrets.

Unravel the waterfalls

and bring them to your hair.

Wash every insect out from crawling at your skin, until nothing lives beneath you but me

(I promise to be good beneath you).

I want to kiss you lightly,

darkly,

florescently.

Colours blue and pink in one.

Clumsy flushed skin beneath mine,

until I break the world

to share the time we need.

What I am trying to say is

if there’s a time limit on this,

I will find a way to break it.

I will find a way to make this last forever

and the train, it will never come.

I will love you like love has never been something that breaks,

like it is all I have left of me.

You are all I have left of me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

mak

do you believe in the power of words? i think all of us do secretly, even those who say they hate reading. words are everywhere, in everything. we use them. we read them. we are consumed by them. words, for me, are what hold me together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.