Poets logo

This is Mine

issue #379

By Brenton FPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
26

i'm in love with the lisp

i am a part of the lie (i tell myself)

my words begin to revolt

at the end of my tongue

this is my impediment

i'm in love with the awkward

i’ m more alive within the shy

my words betray me

and crumble from my lips

this is my impediment

i'm in love with the disparity

i'm adrift in old despair

my words fracture

as they leave my mouth

this is my impediment

i'm in love with the dysphonia

this stop start articulation

my words fall apart

and spill unheard behind the grunt

this is my impediment

i’m in love with hearing myself

but only my inner voice

my words deflate and fail me

i am shame

this is my impediment

i’m in love with the illusion

only because the truth hurts

my words become viscous strands

that threaten to fleck with spittle

this is my impediment

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetry
26

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I had a lisp. Not much love there...but I like this... ♥️

  • The refrain: this is my impediment A consummate pleasure. Cool.

  • "My words fracture as they leave my mouth." I loved that line so much! Your poem was so intense and I loved it! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Edgy tone to your poem Brenton. Hope you are travelling well! Congrats on your top story too! 😃👍

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    This was good - favourite line "i’ m more alive within the shy"

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Love the honesty in this, your brevity in expressing yourself and the new word, dysphonia! Congrats on a well deserved Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Now I know what dysphonia is, great work very powerful

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    We cannot heal what we cannot name. You have named, and thus many are healed.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Back to say congrats on the TS.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Geez this was brilliant!! Your poetry just speaks. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Congrats Brenton

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is so creative and well written. Very well done.

  • Andrew C McDonald6 months ago

    We all must remember that a speech impediment does not equate to a brain impairment. This is so well written mate. The struggle is portrayed superbly. Love it.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Shame and love can sit together, so painfully. I love how you conjure though, a sense that what comes out is so worth hearing, that there is art in it that unimpeded speech does not have.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Superbly written!!! Hugs!!!

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    This is so unique and masterfully written, really well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.