Poets logo

This is me

I am poem

By Diani AlvarengaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
This is me
Photo by Lÿv on Unsplash

I am what I am.

I am a paper waiting to be colored,

I am a worker dealing with the nonsense of Karens,

I am my glasses, yet wearing them still makes me blind to love.

I am with glossy lips but they are untouched,

I am in my room dancing through the dirty clothes and toys on the ground,

I am in the bathroom making up scenarios in my head, I am the main character,

I am coffee without sugar when feeling bored,

I am a bilingual person but hate when being told I should work as a translator,

I am sneaker shoes with a bodycon dress,

I am my coffee colored teddy bears,

I am SpongeBob SquarePants, without a driver’s license.

I am, like other students, feeling aggravated having to take courses irrelevant to my career,

I am holding on to someone who doesn’t want to hold on,

I am comfortable having doubts before making choices I could regret,

I am the moon and fluffy clouds.

inspirationalsurreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    One of the best poems I’ve ever read

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!!💖💖💕

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is touchingly beautiful!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Ooooh so much depth and so many layers in this!! I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.