Poets logo

This Is a Tractor Pull

#VocalNPM

By Carrie MoranPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

do you remember that nightwe were drinking wine in my kitchenplaying word games that started sillygot serious when it took so longjust to get through our ABCs

how by the time we got tothe middle of the alphabetthe tension was so thickthe only thing we could dowas break our bodiesagainst each otherright there in the kitchentrying not to spill the wine

how we picked back uptore through those letterswanting to winwanting to give inheaded for my bed

how I sang you to utopiaan undulation

an unusual cryescaping from your throat

somehow we kept it goingvivaciousyieldingzenith

how no matter how manyhips I've climbed sinceI can't forget this

how you made methink smile laugh crysing screamall at the same time

how nothing I find isbigger than a candle flame

how you burned my house down

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Carrie Moran

I take photos to remember / I write to forget

http://carriemoran.com

instagram: @sillycarrs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.