Poets logo

Thirty Years A Slave [Dedicated to Those Struggling To Love Themselves]

By: Carlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 27 days ago 1 min read
4
Artwork courtesy of American Artist Wilford Blaise Jr.

1.

Escaping, to where Body and mind are safe enough, to open up showing the world I am not afraid

Chasing this unforgettable dream, that My choices are my own and must remain so, as you will never own me.

Living, in this new space, free from Your disgrace and lies, can't be found by your spies seeking my captivity.

Independent, I can pay my own rent, curl my locks, flirt with jocks, hell I'll even paint my toenails red.

Profound, the moment I realized I am not one for your labels, as I know Who I am, accept It and we'll be fine Man.

Separating the truth from your vast collection of lies really opened my tear-stained eyes, I can see I am truly authentic & Free.

Emancipation, from your whips, torture, butchery, escaping you and your cruelty, my greatest accomplishment.

[End]

Mental HealthheartbreakAcrostic
4

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Catherine Nyomenda25 days ago

    Woaaaaa! This is amazing. "Emancipation, from your whips, torture, butchery, escaping you and your cruelty, my greatest accomplishment." No comment on the last line!

  • Shaun Walters25 days ago

    Wonderfully done! Good luck with the challenge

  • Novel Allen27 days ago

    What an honest and take no prisoners, poem filled with truth and keeping it real I feel so proud to be reading these wonderful words. FYAH!!!! Ah! Andrew, your poem echoes my state of mind of late. I have been feeling the color of my skin itching to be free-er more than ever. Power to the people and all that Jazz. Great work Bruzuh.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.