Poets logo

Think Inside the Box

How Does One Think Anywhere Else? A satirical commentary on silly phrasing

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
2
Think Inside the Box
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX

What does that truly mean?

How does one accomplish it?

I have been told that this ability is key to success

I just have no thought on how to go about it

My entire mind is encased in a box

Pretty sure my mind is my thinking implement

At least I think it is

My box is a head shaped box

Yet, it is still a box nonetheless

A box designed to hold my brain - my mind, my thoughts

My box has two eyes, two ears, a nose, a mouth

My box has a chin, forehead, and wrinkles

TBH it may have an acne scar or two

My box even has a tad of thinning hair

Yet it is undeniably a box ...

A fairly solid biological box of blood, brain and tissue

Thinking boxes are designed for a variety of purposes

Thus the attached appendages

They use the eyes to see the world

To experience it visually

They watch the sun rise and set

They observe the night fall

They watch clouds scud by

They watch our lunar neighbor in the night sky

They widen to allow extra light

They watch my children at play

They see the words in the books I read

My in the box mind interprets those words and sights

But the eyes must first see them and pass the information along

They close to block out things best left unseen

They note beauty in nature

They see the ugly as well

They are set in the box, my eyes

My thinking box uses ears to listen (or not)

They listen to a woman sighing in satisfaction

They listen to a man grunt in exertion

They hear puppies growl and cats hiss

They warn me of danger in the dark

They hear the lonesome whippoorwill

They hear the whistle of a train

The honking of horns in snarled traffic

They hear the howling of the coyotes on the prairie

They are set in the box, my ears

My thinking box uses the nose to scent...

It scents flowers opening

As the Bard himself stated in Romeo & Juliet

"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet"

My own thinking/scenting box prefers the headier scents

Magnolia blossoms as they clog the air with nirvana

My nose in the box scents perfumes on a woman or

Musky sweat on a man

It can scent a skunk or roadkill

It can warn me of danger from fire

It is set in the box, my nose

My mouth tastes the rain

It tastes the slightly salty skin of a woman aroused

The tongue in the mouth in the box is a fantastic thing

It can lick ice cream on a hot summer day

It can sing a joyful song ... Out of tune, but joyful

It is the main medium by which my thinker passes messages

My mouth tells the world what I need

My mouth tells bedtime stories to my children

It whispers sweet words to my loving wife

My mouth is the great communicator

As well as the supreme taster

It is set in the box, my mouth...

All these things, along with other anatomical anomalies

All send messages to my in the box thinker

Messages that tell it what to think

Messages that tell it how to think

Yet, still... My thinker is in the box

My thinking may be unusual at times

It may be normal, strange or average

Sometimes it may even be psychedelically nuts

But .. It all takes place inside the box

My mind is the core of my being, my identity

All my thinking takes place in my mind

It is in the brain in the box, my mind

So... THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX

Can someone elucidate?

Think outside the Norm?

Cliff Claven did that a lot ...

Usually while downing copious amounts of beer

A truly copious amount of beer so Cheers to him

This may have helped skew his thinking

But, I bet it still was in the box

We all think inside our respective box

My thoughts can escape the box

They escape via my hands

This they do by caresses, hitting, writing, stroking, patting...

My thoughts escape the box through my mouth

Sometimes that is good..., others not so much

My thoughts escape the box through my nose

With the advent of of a sniff of disdain

Possibly by a turning up thereof or a look down it

My thoughts sometimes are mirrored in my eyes

Happiness, sadness, love, hate ...

All these thoughts can pass through the eyes

And thus they may escape the box

Yet... the thoughts originate INSIDE THE BOX

So... You may try to think outside the box

I do my best thinking inside the box

I am constitutionally, physiologically, incapable of ...

THINKING OUTSIDE THE BOX

surreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
2

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I like how our eyes, nose, mouth and ears collaborate with our thinking box. But the thing is, my thinking box has a box. And I think outside that box. I still fail miserably, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is well thought out, even though it came from inside. Nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.