Poets logo

Think Inside The Box

Sometimes, walls are there for a reason.

By Anna MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Like every other innocent kid,

My defensive walls were nonexistent.

Everyone had the potential to be a friend

And I saw the good in others,

In my playful peers.

Then, as I aged, matured

I met the cruelty of humanity.

Time and time again

I was shunned or abandoned or used.

Suddenly, friends were enemies

And strangers were dangerous.

The walls I never knew I needed were built.

Brick by brick,

I quoted and recorded every single

Comment from others

Into the cement glue as a brutal reminder

That no one is what they seem.

That everyone has a hidden agenda

And that there's always a catch.

I promised myself that no one would get too close

That I would never let anyone in

Ever again.

I reminded myself that humans were a selfish, greedy breed

That they lie and manipulate,

Hurt me in ways I never before thought possible.

With no regard for my well being

And no regret for their unforgivable words or actions.

I got so used to looking into every conversation

Armed with a fine toothed comb,

Searching for that hint of darkness

I was so sure lurked in everyone

That instead of seeing the world

Around me as a beautiful place,

I trained myself to see only the expectation of pain.

Of betrayal and heartbreak.

Now I'm stuck behind these walls,

Sealed tight and running out of air.

Running out of reasons to let people in.

Buried under rubble and brick and stone,

I will remain.

Forgotten.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Anna Miller

I am a twenty one year old aspiring poet with a love for writing stories and keep up various separate journals. I am new to the whole 'professional writing' thing so this is going to be a learning experience!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.