Poets logo

Things I wish I knew when I was younger

A poem

By Marissa JeffriesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Things I wish I knew when I was younger
Photo by Evgeni Tcherkasski on Unsplash

Oh, when I was young, I didn't know how to feel, I was always "numb"

Being be-littled and been called "dumb",

I was so little, you see, just a little seed,

No proper nourishment to grow,

They always told my step-mom, "you reap what you sow",

My dad was always away, which lead me astray,

Which led me to be afraid; afraid of whom I was supposed to call "mom"

Days and weeks grew long, so I went on to singing my own song,

The things I wish I knew as a child, made me grow up to be wild.

Wild and broken as you would say, never wanted to go "home" at the end of the day,

My family loved me or so I thought, they would always me leave me with her to emotionally "rot"

School was tough and kids were mean, so I started to make a scene.

Fights between parents would start, attacking eachother's minds and hearts,

I was always told I was the root of the problem, leaving little seedling me to solve them.

I never knew what a safe space was, I just always wanted to fly away like a dove.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Marissa Jeffries

Here I am!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.