Poets logo

things I will put on my ethereal to-do list which is nonurgent and exclusively conceitedly self-serving:

zero boxes checked

By Elsie CoenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

 type up all my houseless poems

I love them in pen but I lose them

there too

 read them all again and tell everyone else

too. swab peoples’ throats

with the poems until they gag

and have no choice but to

regurgitate every last morsel

 watch the world burn

and decide to write only

about myself and my favorite

tastes because escapism

is the purist form of

idiocy and I would love

to be pretty and

dumb as rocks

check zero boxes

and go on living stupidly

list
Like

About the Creator

Elsie Coen

i am a middle school teacher whose words are not always appropriate for the classroom, but I'm sure as hell they've run their course through those kids' minds. salivate over the words and chew them until they're yours and only yours.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.