Poets logo

Thief

When Heaven Steals A Friend

By K. ExumPublished 27 days ago 1 min read
1

Thief

Why did god have to be a thief?

I can’t take all this grief

Feels like it was yesterday when god took a piece of me

Took big bro away

I still hear the news of him passing in my mind still, I can hear that conversation replay in my head

But I still don’t remember the convo we had on your last day

The bro’s was on the phone as usual

Talking shit, lighting blunts and living life

I can feel the emotions coming back as I type

It’s been two years, and it still doesn’t feel real

Shit, feel like we haven’t talked in a minute

Like you just been to yourself handling business

This grief be eating at me

Can barely sleep at night

I still remember seeing you that one last time

We were chilling smoking blunts, man What a time

I was supposed to see you at your funeral, but I couldn’t bare to remember you in no fuckin’ coffin

You were the one I would call if shit was starting

You were the one signing me up to do this spoken word shit

You were the one feeding me insights on how to move my art

If I had to go down a list of your lessons,

I wouldn’t know where to start

Just know you were a fuckin blessing

And I’m still mad you resting

Sometimes I just want to talk to you

I hear your voice in my head all the time

Sometimes it brings tears

Sometimes it brings joy

I just wish I could hear your voice outside my ears

I still have the memories to enjoy

No matter what, the gang will always be boys

You will always be with us

I love and miss you bruh

Sincerely, Billy

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

K. Exum

Blogger, Poet, and Author from Landover, Maryland. Author of The Story Of Charles Levi on Amazon. Multiple spoken word singles and a project on streaming platforms. Check out my blog www.piecesofk.blog Follow my IG & X @thtstonedpoet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Binkley4 days ago

    Awww sorry for your loss. Grief is hard and everyone goes through it. At least we have great memories to hold on to.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.