Poets logo

They Call my Name

Siren Call

By Amber ZajecPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
8

They call my name

I hear them in the darkness

I have never followed

Not until tonight

They call my name

Caressing my skin with soft voices

My feet move on their own accord

Cold wood shoots up my bare feet

They call my name

I am coming

Quickly I walk around the sleeping pirates

One snores loudly

They call my name

My body shivers with anticipation

I make it to the stairs

Moonlight shines through the warped wood

They call my name

Louder now

My feet move up the stairs

Creek, creek, creek,

They call my name

I am almost there

I open the door to a moonlight-kissed deck

My breath forms small clouds

They call my name

Goosebumps form along my arms

I look up

The moon looks back

They call my name

I walk to the edge

They’re louder here

I look down

They call my name

The water below is spilled ink

Dark and eerie

Uninviting

They call my name

I stand on the edge

My stomach drops

I am hit with a rush of wind

They call my name

The word tilts

I fall

Splash

They call my name

At first, it’s dark and cold

Nothing but black

But then

They call my name

Light explodes in front of me

Tails and creatures swim

The darkness breaks

They call my name

The water warms

My skin comes to life

I am home

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Amber Zajec

I have always loved the art of story telling. The magic of words and how they can create new worlds and people.

Please help me out with a tip or pledge so I can continue my passion for writing.

Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sydi Ditleabout a year ago

    I would love to see this written as a story. Eerie and beautiful

  • Mike Zajecabout a year ago

    Very cool. I could see this the start of a movie.

  • Sarzeabout a year ago

    I loved the rhythm of the poem

  • Billie Zajecabout a year ago

    This sounds like a start to a book I would not be able to put down. I agree creepy and beautiful all at once. Love it. Keep writing

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Ooh, it was creepy and beautiful all at once. Amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.