Poets logo

These Walls: Never Again

This is a bit of a prequel to 'These Walls' and gives a bit context and more understanding to the overall place/scenario that is inside of 'These Walls'. In the future, this will likely become a short series of pieces that will describe one large picture from different perspectives from both inside and outside of "the walls".

By Josh MorganPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1
These Walls: Never Again
Photo by Maksym Kaharlytskyi on Unsplash

my guard was down

and you caught me

being myself

you laughed

mocked and made fun

in the very moment my mask was off

you taunted me

and i vowed

in that moment

that these walls would never come down again

guards will always be on duty

measures necessary to prove to me

security

forever conscious

ceaselessly concerned

for my own safety

what harm has been done will surely heal

i say that with zero certainty

but believe me when i say-

that these walls will never come down again

this isn't the first offense against me

in the days that have come and gone

some ten thousand voices have composed a song

a broken record that repeats itself

and as long as that song plays- my mask will stay on

never again will i sing

never again will i speak

never again will i share what i think

never again will i manifest any feeling

and these walls, will never come down again

social commentarysad poetryMental HealthFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.