Poets logo

These Scars Bleed

A Poem

By Kevin KlabonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
These Scars Bleed
Photo by Hannah Xu on Unsplash

This blade is cold, but it burns as it drags across my skin.

These scars I make, drawn by steel, are easily cut in.

Some are so deep. They keep reminding me of where I've been.

Some areas are so shallow, just like the people I have known.

Some are just as fresh as the lies you have shown.

Some so old and jagged and nearly to the bone.

I love my scars, and they will never leave; they are my memories.

I remember each one clearly - they show my weaknesses, and at times bravery.

One or two nearly took my life, sliced through to my artery.

So you see, I am a map to the blind; they can feel my hurts.

Others look and see my smile - never knowing underneath I may be curt.

I cover these scars as I wear my mask - avoid the questions people may ask.

This is my pain.

This is my story.

These scars are a part of me,

They don't need to be fresh to bleed!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.