Poets logo

There You Were

The Truest Love of Them All

By Bobi LarsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Miracle

Sweat runs like a river down both sides of my red face.

Pain washes up and over my abdomen racing to meet the river.

Soft words coaching, coaxing me in this race.

Fatigue embraces me like an old friend, my body starts to shiver.

Fear and pain tumble through me and I wonder if it will end.

Masked faces – eyes darting from one to the other.

Unspoken urgency lies thick, I cannot pretend

It must be now, it must be me – around me they hover.

Quiet

Still

A pin dropping would echo through the room.

Hushed tones, silence that weighs a ton.

I can feel my face pale with the sense of doom.

The thick heavy sounding snip and they're all gone.

Sharp whispers pierce the air

Pause.

My breath catches and I just stare

Pause.

The soft cough that rolls into a cry

Exhale… my heart fractures with joy,

Tears rush down - I lean back with a sigh

Swaddled and snug not much bigger than a toy.

From across the room there you are,

It is done, my heart is forever yours.

Imprinted within me, my favorite scar,

With you in my arms, the world blurs.

Perfection.

So this is True Love.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bobi Larson

40-Something author with a passion for description and creativity. I have worn multiple hats through the years but always come back to writing. I have always enjoyed eliciting different emotions through the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.