Poets logo

There once was ....

Lament from the sick room

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
photo: Pixabay

I wanted to write from my bed

As purple clouds danced in my head

But it was a strain

With covid on my brain

So I wrote a limerick instead!

!

Thank you to those who inspired this trend and gave this sicky a fun diversion!

Well, now I have to come up with fifty more words so Vocal will let me publish this. So, let me encourage everyone to be mindful that covid is still a thing. My daughter is immunocompromised so we try to be particularly careful, but covid still found our household. Doctor noted that cases are on the rise, especially among kids. :-( It's still OK to wear a mask if you want. It's still OK to avoid large indoor gatherings if you don't feel safe. It's still OK to get vaccinated. Getting sick -- not so OK.

art
3

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    get better soon!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This limerick is a fun and creative way to remind readers about the ongoing threat of COVID-19 and the importance of staying safe.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Glad you hopped on the limerick train but I’m sorry to hear you are sick. It’s definitely not over and still scary.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    So glad the limerick was a fun distraction!! Sorry you've been sick. I hope it passes quickly and your daughter is spared from it!! Yes, to staying home when sick, and wearing a mask just because. Take care!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.