Poets logo

There is a world in which I didn't waste my time

Or, One year and ten and a half months

By CheshirePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
[Image ID: Dying roses in a vase]

They put their knives in the dishwasher.

Their pots and pans, too, but the knives were the biggest offender.

It pained me to see them pull once-sharp blades from the dishwasher and toss them carelessly in a drawer.

No sheath to protect the blade or the hands reaching in.

No knife block or magnet on the wall.

I never knew if I'd get hurt rummaging for a spatula when I cooked them lunch - and I did, several times.

I'd like to say I noticed it right away, left as soon as I saw the rust on their prized sword.

I'd like to say I realized before I left how they never sharpened their knives after dulling them but swore to the heavens that they took care of their shit.

First DraftheartbreakFree Verse
Like

About the Creator

Cheshire

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Great work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.