Poets logo

Thelma's Tavern

Thank the Tempting Tonics

By Brin J.Published 12 months ago 1 min read
5
*AI image from Nightcafe*

Tired travelers traverse terrains

trekking the tempestuous torrent

Through thick timbers, they trudge

toward the transcending territory

The tourists thrill, throwing trills to the trees

then, their tattered threads trot through the threshold

Thelma's Tavern's turnout tops the theaters

There's tunes thumping

toes tapping

troublemakers talking

torches twitching

thugs triumphing

thirty townsfolk thirsting, tasting, tumbling

tipping to the taps,

teasing the timid,

tricking the traders

tangling their tongues

(those that tarry turn taboo)

Then, they toast to Thelma

toping through their thick tipples

Time ticks

the tavern turns tranquil

Tallying the tips

Thelma thanks the tempting tonics

til tonight's twilight.

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Brin J.

I never believed the sky is the limit, therefore my passions are expansive. My interest in writing stemmed from poetry but my heart lead me to Sci-Fi Fantasy. Consequently, my stories are plot-driven with splashes of evocative elements.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    This was so good, I almost forgot i was reading a tautogram. The flow was amazing! great job!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    This is so entertaining! My toes were tapping! Good work!

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    That's a Tolstoy tautogram there! Okay, I exaggerate a little, but it's still a full story. Great stuff Brin.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Oh wow, Brin!! So creative and a joy to read. I felt like I was out for a drink with friends :) Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.