Poets logo

Their Story

I see it

By Trudi JanePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I watch them over there.

Silently from my window.

Their movements are predictable, in and out, a cigarette, a wave at some passer-by.

Sometimes she heads out to the shops, and you can tell when her outfit has changed, its a little loud, individual, it suits her

They are old, and they smoke, no great story to be seen here.

To some, in this Covid-19 crisis, they are expendable.

I have heard it, it is a virus just for old people

Like age makes you insignificant.

But I watch.

And, I see more.

I see how they talk to their neighbour who lives on his own, and how he is part of their family.

I see how they support the alcoholic at the end of the street, and how she is part of their family.

To some, they are perhaps all expendable.

But not to me.

I see how everyone may not see their life, but to some, their life is everything.

Let time choose them, not indifference

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Trudi Jane

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.