Poets logo

The Written Word

Forever living

By Colleen Millsteed Published 6 months ago 1 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I open my heart to hear what you have to say,

I listen to the tone of all that I hear,

Looking for the wisdom, the intuition that makes me smile,

And feel the syllables as they inflict my mind,

Honoured by your speech.

**

I welcome the love that I feel in your presence,

The care you show in a few important words,

It may be just a single comment, or a full blown paragraph,

Each word lovingly written with care,

And feel joy that you took the time to write.

**

I am truly honoured that we met,

And live for the sound of your voice,

Heard from a distance and through the space of time,

As you get your message out there,

For all and one to read.

**

I saviour the taste as I slowly read,

Analysing the undertones of silence that seperate the words,

Debates that carry on long after the spell is broken,

Long after the celebratory highs lighten,

Knowing the words live forever, as long as there’s one to read.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

Gratitude

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This is how I feel about you! Thank you so much my dear friend! 🥰🥰🥰

  • The space between author & reader, as with the space between friends, is never empty but rather indescribably infused with meaning, heart & depth.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.