Poets logo

The Wren

Little messenger

By Colleen WaltersPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
3
The Wren
Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

Little wren

I have no clue when

You ended up in here

It’s so totally unclear

So how, when, why?

Did you walk in, or fly?

I didn’t see or hear a thing

Until I saw you clinging

But I was amused

To see the cat confused

Seeing you there

As a meal, to be fair

What were you here for?

Only way in is through the door

Maybe you’re a sign

From Him Divine

Crixus the cat alerted me

And then God inserted me

For your rescue

Or did you rescue me?

Were you sent for me to see

Everything’s okay?

That the tears I’ve cried

Over my roller coaster ride

Weren’t meant to harden

My heart, but to water the garden

“ be patient, just go slow

And watch your garden grow.”

And what a thrill

That my cat didn’t kill

You

I was so close to you

It’s as if I knew

As I carried you

That you were so much more

Than a little wren at an open door

And as I looked into your eye

I watched you fly

Into the tree, and then you were gone

But not before you put a song

In my soul and mind and heart

“Not the end, just the start

So just stay the course

You have such a force -

A love that is greater than.”

All that from a little Wren.

nature poetryGratitudeFriendshipFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, usually inspired by events and people in my life..Always be you, because you are awesome-

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Furkan Ö.27 days ago

    It's really fun :) I'm waiting for more...

  • Rowan Finley about a month ago

    This is playful and thought provoking! Thank you for sharing great work here. :)

  • Anna about a month ago

    Beautiful!😊🫶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.