Poets logo

THE WONDER OF A CHILD

OH! TO STAY INNOCENT AND CAREFREE

By Novel AllenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
MY TEDDY DOGGIE

Would it not be marvelous to retain the wonder of a child

To see beauty in the raindrops

To taste a snowflake

To gather flowers in the sunshine

To chase a butterfly and run unfettered

To roll in the mud and splash in the puddles

"We planted a seed, and oh! a tree grew!, and we got flowers

and this one has fruits

Isn't that great".

There is so much to see and discover, that the attention span

is broad and wide and expansive

It has no time to sit still and brood

"Let's go to the playground"

the swing, the slide

the sand, the wiggly walking thing

Look how high the sky is,

"why can I not touch it"

Why is the sky blue

Why does it rain

Why, bees, honey

Why, birds, wings, fly

Why, airplanes soar

Why can't I fly

So many different pretty flowers

They smell so nice

Who made me

Why do I have to do chores

I want to go play with my friends

Homework. "awww" mom

Today I want to stay on the computer all day

but outside beckons

Because nothing is better than natures freedom

Bugs and lizards and birds and stones and rocks

and trees to climb

And girls to tease

I fall, I hurt my knees, I cry, I need a band-aid

and a kiss

I am better

Here I go again

I've got mischief to get up to

Lets dance in the raindrops

Run with our kites

Chase the birds

Laugh at the butterflies all so colorful

Be happy and laugh and run and flit

Be young

Carefree and fancy free

Let them have it

Is there anything more perfect than the wonder of a child

The wonder of a child and childhood

Do not snatch it from them

After all

What else is there but childhood and the love of it.

It is fleeting

Let them have it

Let them run and laugh and cry

Let them be young and fancy free.

Hearts.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.