Poets logo

The Wolf of Maestranza

An acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
29
Image created with Midjourney

Dancing with the wolf of Maestranza,

(I'm)

Serendipitous this time amidst the tussles of our war.

Tangled are we in this anti-tango, (our)

Restless heartbeats are in tandem--so confused, contorted; sore.

A flash of red before me is ambrosia, your

Cape is scarlet dalliance (that) I simply can't ignore.

The roars around us become amplified into crescendos, then

Interludes of tension b u t t e r f l y into the toasts of pinot noir.

Oh, opalescent is the rainbow, and

Nuanced (was my) divertissement with your flashy, garnet flor...you feel empathy for me (my fate is painful); you are el campeón--the matador. 💔

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

Author's Note: This poem is classified as a Signature Mini. ☺️

While it's been fun working to expand my vocabulary by learning all of those obscure, grandiloquent French words (that have actually all been adopted by the English language), Spanish is actually my second language. Therefore, for this poem, I stuck to vocabulary that better aligns with my comfort zone--in addition to the theme! ☺️

Here are the definitions of some of the words in here--pulled from my 20+ years of speaking the language (and 9+ years of teaching it!) 😅:

(la) flor (flower)

el campeón (the champion)

(el) matador (this word translates to "bullfighter", though it literally means "killer", as it is stemmed from the Spanish verb "matar"-- meaning "to kill". )

Maestranza (The name of a very famous bullfighting ring in Seville, Spain, second only to Las Ventas of Madrid -- which is quite possibly the most famous bullfighting ring in the world.) Note: the full name of this ring is "Plaza de Toros de Real Maestranza De Caballería De Ronda".

Interesting fact about the way my mind works: I would have preferred (and did try) to use "Las Ventas" instead of "Maestranza" due to the fame of the former. However, I ultimately chose Maestranza for the 4 syllable count instead of the 3. Also, "Maestranza" just sounds cooler. 😎

If you'd like to check out other poems from my Signature Mini collection, try this:

This poem was written for the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. :)

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

heartbreak
29

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelley Stead11 months ago

    Great twist on the challenge! Very unique.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Great Stuff 💃🏽💓I love the tango .

  • Meagan Dion11 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Holly Pheni11 months ago

    Love it! Your verbal images coupled with your stunning artwork make the whole experience! Love hearing from the bull's perspective!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Another excellent poem! It's hard to describe how much I love your style!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Love the flavour of the variety of word choices you have incorporated throughout your piece & I appreciate your explanations for these at the end. ☺️✍️

  • Oh I was thinking this was a Gina Petite. But it's a Signature Mini? I'm confused 😅 So now are there 3 categories? Gina Signature, Gina Petite and Signature Mini? Please correct me if I'm wrong 😅 I loved all the aspects of Red in your Acrostic! And yes, Maestranza definitely sounds cooler!

  • Stories/Poems about bullfighting always make me think of "Requiem for the Masses" Poignant expression of a brutal & cruel sport from the victim's point of view.

  • Brilliantly beautiful Gina!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    This is beautiful!

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Wow ! One entry or the other 😋, if you don’t at least place, and possibly win this challenge I will be shocked. 🥰

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Excellent as always, Gina - and I love the Spanish flair!

  • Excellent work some great phrases and love the formatting, image and explanations

  • ARC11 months ago

    This one was tough for me to read. Lots of emotions. And you are just so *good* at painting scenes with words. I had a very powerful 'learning experience' years ago when I went to my first bullfight and learned - in the moment - that they are literal fights to the death. Our """civilization""" (there aren't enough quotes to put around that word) is so needlessly brutal sometimes. It's the needless part that gets me. Life is brutal in many ways, even without our doing anything. Isn't that enough? Why do we still feel the need to add to its brutality? Regardless, this poem is majestic, and violent, and passionate - just like a real bullfight. You did honor to the skill, and honor to the spirit of the fallen. Amazing work, as always, Gina. 💙

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    This is so stunning, evocative, and brilliantly clever! Gorgeous, Gina!! 💖💓

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    What a story told through such gorgeous, thoughtful language. I wanted to hug the bull, lol! And your afterwards are just the best. I loved everything about this piece.

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Truly beautiful work! Rhymes, rhythm, pacing, diction, simply gorgeous. Love the rhyme in the final verse, but the build up to it was sublime.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    You always increase my vocabulary with your work... Grazie! Merci! Segoi! Danke!

  • Rachael MacDonald11 months ago

    I love when a poem makes me look up words! And I found it to be a beautiful clash between a fight and the clamor of new love.

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Stunning. Absolutely an emotional visual on every line. You are brilliant! This one is now my favorite!

  • Ava Mack11 months ago

    This is so wonderful! I absolutely love a matador story/poem and from the POV of the bull - amazing!

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Wow Gina!! Another AWESOME acrostic!!

  • brilliantly done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.