Poets logo

The Winter Stalker

A Dispute

By Haggar BenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
27
The Winter Stalker
Photo by Jaunathan Gagnon on Unsplash

A thin layer of snow coated the streets.

I crossed the intersection, acutely aware of the sleets.

Angrily walking after a noisy dispute,

I noticed a dark figure was in pursuit.

Night has fallen, and in the corner of my eye,

Something was hovering nearby.

I veered quickly into an alley,

Awaiting my stalker in attack for a rally.

The valves in my heart thumped irregularly

As adrenaline coursed into my veins impulsively.

I waited and remained waiting for what seemed like a while.

I decided to risk a peak from my exile.

Fear prickled over me to my revelation.

There was not a soul; what a damnation!

Footprints were absent from the snow.

Perhaps I was frightened by my own shadow.

Emotions running high in the heat of an argument,

Indeed, such venom thoughts are quite turbulent.

performance poetryvintagesurreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fictionexcerpts
27

About the Creator

Haggar Ben

I love to dream and let my mind drift off into new worlds and characters.

With the use of this platform, I plan to practice the gift and artform of storytelling.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Rana Shafiq6 months ago

    I am professor Shafiq masters in Mathematics and post graduate,in computer science I teach maths, physics and chemistry. my interpretation is purely based on students' comprehension ability. If the student doesn't understand the subject, I explain with the basics until he understands the topic. Basically maths is a logical subject, if we grasp magic we don't need to worry about maths subject.... Very positive and productive content ♥️♥️

  • Rana Shafiq6 months ago

    The narrative skillfully builds tension and suspense, leading the reader through a chilling sequence of events. The sudden revelation at the end adds a twist, highlighting the psychological impact of fear and how it can distort perceptions in the heat of the moment. The interplay of emotions and the atmospheric setting contribute to a gripping tale.

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wow, this was wild! You did a wonderful job, creating tense and psychological thriller in this poem. 

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Excellent writing - moody and atmospheric. Well done.

  • Steven6 months ago

    Personally, I don't like winter

  • Inside the story, there is some fear and some romance.

  • Test6 months ago

    Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work—congrats!

  • Daphne Ludlam6 months ago

    Great pacing and world-building

  • Test6 months ago

    This is so crazy for me. Congrats on top story you deserve

  • Madi Haywood6 months ago

    Fab poem! Well done on Top Story - you deserve it!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    We’ve all been there at least once. Well Done with the way you presented this feeling with words Congratulations

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Well done. Congrats on Top Story

  • RAKESH WANGE6 months ago

    Awesome

  • Oooo, this was so creepy! Loved your poem!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    I've seen and still see shadows moving around me periodically, and no, they are not my shadows. Maybe one day, they'll tell me who they are and what they want.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.