Poets logo

The Whistle's Lure:

My Life in Transition

By Cassandra Colley-CousePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Whistle's Lure:
Photo by Roland Lösslein on Unsplash

A train whistle floats in

and I'm filled with a longing ache.

I yearn for places I've not yet been,

horizons abandoned for your sake.

***

I've spent Saturdays in Montreal

enjoying bagels and boulangerie,

I've whiled away Sundays in Toronto

warming up with ramen and roti

***

I've cherished memories of solo summers

spent adventuring in Algonquin,

of boarding planes just to taste

the salty mussels of Moncton.

***

I've combed the waves

of tussled beach hair in Tofino,

and paired Huron's painted sunsets

with crisp Niagara Pinot Grigio.

***

Thousands of days spent in untethered grace,

and that whistle now calls me to roam.

But as it fades, you give me a kick--no, a roll,

and I smile, finally content to be home.

***

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cassandra Colley-Couse

Life can be beautiful & scary

Semi-autobiographical and short fiction stories

Self proclaimed Goblin

A lover of horror, thrillers, life's mysteries & lessons

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.