Poets logo

The Wedding Dress for Sunset

A Poem

By Leona ValentinePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

As I walked through a busy city by the bell,

A traditional, white garment caught my eye.

It was a beautiful silhouette.

My eyes widened with delight and fantasy,

But my heart sunk with sorrow and loneliness.

While I froze in front of the boutique,

I was hypnotized by the embroidered floral appliqués.

There were painful memories of lost love.

The Lord’s house was opened for us,

But it was never entered.

I was abandoned by lust when I needed love.

There were no others.

No one was true.

The mates had no soul.

I bought the gown while I was alone.

It was for the day my sun sets.

Maybe the Lord will present me with the one in the kingdom.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Janna Kosmos10 months ago

    It's a beautiful dress, but mine was better. At a wedding, the bride's wedding dress always attracts special charm and attention. I recently purchased my adorable wedding dress from Pollardi https://pollardi.com/brands/daria-karlozi . These dresses are just delightfully romantic, close-fitting outfits just like I wanted. They are truly designed to make the bride look superb. I received many compliments on my wedding day and felt incredible. Go to the website and see for yourself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.