Poets logo

The Wedding Day

Mustache Mania

By Ali LovePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Wedding Day
Photo by Jason Yoder on Unsplash

My love is waiting. The big day is here.

The church doors are open. Forever is near.

I pull up my dress and slip on my shoe.

I have something borrowed and I have something blue.

My hair is pinned up with the veil attached.

A crown of flowers and a bouquet to match.

Today is my day to be fairest of all.

A last minute glimpse in the mirror on the wall.

Oh no! What's this? How could this be?

A thick hairy mustache is all I see.

Not just any mustache has grown on my face,

But a magical one that can't be erased.

I grabbed a razor and began to shave.

It comes right back. It won't behave.

I shave and I shave and I tweeze and I Nair.

But nothing seems to get rid of this hair.

I'm freaking now, don't know what to do.

The entire assembly, they have no clue.

I'll walk down the aisle with the veil over my face.

Only to be revealed this mustache disgrace.

I'll say my vows with a box on my head.

When he sees the stache', we'll already be wed.

Through sickness and health and all the above,

I'll marry this man for the sake of our love.

Hoping his kiss will break this hairy spell.

It's time. It's time. There's the church bell.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ali Love

I have lived an extraordinary life. I have traveled through time and space to get to the place I am in the Here and Now. Some may wonder how I am still alive, still strong, and continue to live with an enthusiastic zest for life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.