Poets logo

The Wave

A poem

By Sara WilsonPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8

There's no easy way to say it

No easy way to take it in

the world just disappears around you

and your brain just starts to spin.

It hits you like a tidal wave

Your breath feels frozen inside

You feel like you've been gutted

and there's no where left to hide.

"I'm so sorry." is what they all say

"Is there anything I can do?"

"It'll all get better within time"

But is any of it really true?

There are moments it doesn't hurt

I'm grateful your suffering is done

I think back on all of our summers

They were filled with love and fun

And for that minute, I'm okay

but then, here comes that wave

Because I remember I can't call you

and my heart is an empty cave.

You're gone. You're really gone.

The world feels somehow wrong.

I'll keep saying "I'm okay"

But I haven't been all along.

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    A heartfelt poem. Well done, but sorry to hear.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Crap...missed this, sorry! Sending you love and prayers and all kinda warm stuff. I know the feeling too well and hope you know I'm thinking of you! This is a beautiful poem.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! So heartfelt. Sending hug and prayers, my friend. Loved the title. It fits perfectly.

  • Living this, feeling this, written plainly & as though written in the numbness of shock, just what it's like to go through this wondering if you'll ever come out the other side.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    So sorry 4 your loss Sara! This was beautifully-penned!

  • Those waves are so relatable. Your poem was so heartbreaking and emotional. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Relatable. Lovely poem.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Grief really does come in waves 💔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.