Poets logo

The Warrior Rises Within

Battling his nemesis in all his glory

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
8
Image courtesy of Pixabay

He runs the gauntlet of blood shedding on a daily basis,

Skipping the generations of fashion conscientiousness,

Strapping on his leather facade of strength and promise,

Thumbing his nose at society’s tricky pretentiousness.

🥷

He rides the stressors of his hourly struggles,

Lifting the bar for those that welcome him into their night,

He wanders the thoughts of his enemies, scouring their nightmares,

Turning their window of opportunities off, much to his delight.

🥷

He rushes through the hottest tasks on his to-do list,

Persecuting his multitasking abilities with a shrug of his shoulders,

Knowing he’ll endeavour to breeze through the wanton cruelty,

High jumping the starting point much to the blessing of stakeholders.

🥷

Random pressures force his smile to widen into a sneering grimace,

The weight of the world a thousand pound rock,

Bending his back to the obstacles of the universal laws,

Breaking his bones, his heart, his determination in shock.

🥷

Today the sun is shining in glorious prisms,

So he chooses to take advantage of the sunshine in grace,

Tomorrow could see him trying to survive his darkest doldrums,

Making him aware today is not to be taken for granted but to embrace.

🥷

Shivers walk his spine as cold fingers of dread spasm,

Forewarning him of the struggles with which he’ll face his grief,

Chest heaving in bittersweet agony for the lessons to be learned,

Initiating changes in his emotions and his biggest belief.

🥷

I watch in awe as he shoulders his grimmest of responsibilities,

My heart swells in pride as his warrior heart beats to its own drum,

I often wait for his downfall of prejudice and raw euphemism,

And I ask him how he holds his head high and doesn’t succumb.

🥷

He answers me with a cheeky smile lightheartedly gifted,

“I wear the storm of the shadows upon my broad back,

And dress in the faith of tomorrow’s greatest universal expectation,

While humbly resorting to the breaking of my nemesis’ attack.”

🥷

If only a little of his desire, passion and incredible strength

Would rub off on my dreams and extinguish my nightmare,

I’d wake to a better tomorrow of precious never ending possibilities,

Leaving behind the pain and facing the adventures that scare!

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

inspirationalsurreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Now where do I find guys like this, lol! Awesome poem my friend!

  • Diane Mary Markey10 months ago

    Colleen, Your hero is grand, your words speak wonders, well done, Diane.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is exquisite writing! I loved every line.

  • We see such strength in others. If only we could find the strength they see in us.

  • Joe Patterson10 months ago

    Very well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.