Poets logo

The Warm Bubble

made of teflon

By Jada FergusonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
A snapshot of the artwork entitled Mya Chillin by Cameron Knight

The couch and I sigh in unison-

As I sink into the cushion-

-

After I recline, I tuck myself into my seat-

With a cloak quilted from toasted clouds-

-

The wind is throttling my window-

Snow is building a barricade between me and the outside-

My ginger tea with honey and a squeeze of lemon-

Is steaming out of a mug that requires a hug from both my hands-

-

I have gone commando-

In the least constricting pants I own-

Bras have been banished out of my pride lands-

And my oversized Elmo hoodie respects my pudgy stomach-

-

My eyes are lasered onto Baldwin’s words-

I pick up a paper and pen-

Because his story has-

Added fresh wood to my fireplace-

-

My belly rumbles-

-

Ray Charles mixes my apple butter pancake batter-

King Krule flips the Texas size flapjack when the butter has formed the perfect thick crust along the sides-

4 Non Blondes fries the bacon leaving the fatty parts the ideal texture-

Benjamin Clementine uses the bacon grease to exquisitely scramble 2 cheese eggs with a sprinkle of hot sauce-

Joy Crookes sets the platter with separate divisions for sweet and salty dishes-

Sam Cooke waves an extra dollop of butter on the pancake-

Jessie Reyez drizzles the syrup-

The Smiths fill the floor with pillows and comforters-

Deva Mahal extends the legs of my bed tray table-

-

I take my place and drape my blanket over my legs-

In this space crafted especially for me-

-

I really try to take my time eating my immaculate meal-

While I happen upon a film that gives me all the feels-

-

No one invades my sanctuary-

The phone is on the outskirts of my thoughts-

-

I slide into a peaceful slumber-

And dream of the day I just had

list
Like

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Sounds real comfy. Warmth in winter.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.