Poets logo

The Wanderer's Lament

"The Journey of a Wanderer: A Life Lived with Restless Mirth".

By A Friend Published about a year ago 4 min read
1
The Wanderer's Lament
Photo by Hem Poudyal on Unsplash

The road is long and winding,

And I have traveled far,

Through forests dense and mountains high,

Beneath the moon and stars.

I've seen the sun rise in the east,

And set in the west below,

I've felt the wind upon my face,

And tasted rain and snow.

I've crossed the great wide rivers,

And swum the ocean blue,

I've braved the stormy tempests,

And felt the thunder's hue.

But though I've traveled far and wide,

And seen so much of earth,

I cannot shake this wanderer's soul,

That's filled with restless mirth.

For still I long to journey on,

And see what lies ahead,

To feel the earth beneath my feet,

And breathe the wind that's led.

And though the path is steep and rough,

And danger lurks in wait,

I'll take each step with steady heart,

And never hesitate.

For life is but a journey,

And I am but a guest,

Upon this vast and wondrous earth,

Where all are truly blessed.

So let me travel on my way,

And wander as I will,

For in my heart I know the road,

Will lead me to fulfill.

The dreams that I have cherished,

The hopes that I have held,

And though the journey may be long,

The reward will be well quelled.

For in the end I'll find my peace,

And lay my burdens down,

And know that I have journeyed well,

Upon this earthly crown.

So let the road be winding,

And let the journey be long,

For I will travel on and on,

Until my final song.

And when my feet can travel no more,

And my eyes grow dim and tired,

I'll lay myself down on the earth,

Where all who've lived have retired.

And in the stillness of that moment,

I'll feel the earth's embrace,

And know that all my wanderings,

Have brought me to this place.

And though my time may soon be up,

And my journey at an end,

I'll be content, for I have lived,

A life that I can defend.

For I have traveled far and wide,

And seen so much of life,

And though I've had my share of pain,

I've known great joy and strife.

So let me journey on my way,

And wander as I please,

For in the end I'll find my rest,

Beneath the earth and trees.

And those who come after me,

Will know that I have been,

A wanderer who loved the world,

And lived a life serene.

The wind may howl and the rain may pour,

But I will not be afraid,

For I am a wanderer at heart,

And the road is where I'm made.

I'll walk through fields of golden wheat,

And climb the highest peak,

I'll sail across the seven seas,

And feel the ocean's mystique.

For though the road may be uncertain,

And the path may twist and turn,

I know that every step I take,

Is a lesson that I'll learn.

And when I reach my final destination,

And the road comes to an end,

I'll look back on my journey,

And know that I have been

A wanderer through and through,

With a heart that's free and wild,

A traveler on this great earth,

Forever like a child.

So let me journey on my way,

And wander as I please,

For in the end I'll find my rest,

Beneath the earth and trees.

And those who come after me,

Will know that I have been,

A wanderer who loved the world,

And lived a life serene.

For though my travels may be over,

And my feet no longer roam,

I'll know that I have lived my life,

To the fullest and to the bone.

And so I'll rest beneath the sky,

And watch the world go by,

And though my journey may be done,

My spirit will still fly.

For I have wandered through this world,

And seen so much of life,

And though my time may soon be up,

I'll face it without strife.

And when the time comes for me to go,

I'll leave this world behind,

But my soul will journey on and on,

Forever unconfined.

So let me journey on my way,

And wander as I please,

For in the end I'll find my rest,

Beneath the earth and trees.

And those who come after me,

Will know that I have been,

A wanderer who loved the world,

And lived a life serene.

And when my journey is complete,

And I've traveled every mile,

I'll know that I have lived my life,

With a wanderer's smile.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

A Friend

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.