Poets logo

The Void

You left

By Sara Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Void
Photo by Maxim Hopman on Unsplash

Was a stupid girl.

I thought you’d fill the void

My childhood left

When you wrapped your arms around my waist from behind me.

Was sure you’d take the trauma

And make me forget

With your fingers and mouth and intoxicating smile.

I’d dream of you protecting me

Make the little scared girl in me safe

From the world I grew up in that I don’t want to remember.

You left

But you didn’t take it all away

With you.

You just gave me more dark places

I don’t visit

More emptiness

I can’t fill.

So I get tattoos

High on the weekends

And wait for the next one to distract me

And maybe then

I’ll find peace.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.