Poets logo

The Visit.

Healing is in the Feeling.

By Judy Walker Published 2 years ago 1 min read
17
The Visit.
Photo by Amy Syiek on Unsplash

She arrived on the

coattails of a benign

situation,

having whiffed a

familiar scent

of a past injustice.

I let her move

through me.

I feel angry!

I declared to my

beloved and

unpacked the

old, musty hurt

demanding to be

aired.

He sat and listened.

I understand your

anger, he said.

Sadness pricked

my eyes.

Tears washed the

anger clean.

*****************

Sometimes our feelings are a direct reaction to others. Sometimes people trigger something deeper - an old sadness or frustration.

Regardless of the reason they arise, feelings are ours. By acknowledging them, calling them by name, talking about them with those who are trustworthy, we can do the feeling work necessary for our healing.

inspirational
17

About the Creator

Judy Walker

Love & Life are my true inspirations.

If you like my writing, please share, or if so inspired, tip (no obligation).

Your support is appreciated 🙏.

You can find me on FB here.

Instagram here.

Elephant Journal here.

My blog here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.