Poets logo

The Virus and Us

Covid Chronicles

By NaveenkumarPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

"The Pandemic"

The virus spreads with stealth and speed, Infecting all who cross its path. It preys on young and old with equal greed, Leaving death and sorrow in its aftermath.

We huddle in our homes and pray, For a cure or a vaccine to come our way. We wear masks and wash our hands, Hoping to avoid its deadly demands.

The pandemic robs us of our freedom and our joy, As we struggle to find a way to employ The measures that will keep us safe, From this unseen and deadly foe that plagues our race.

"In Isolation"

I sit alone in my room, No friends to share my gloom. The walls are closing in, As I struggle to keep my chin Up in these trying times.

I long for human touch, For the comforting sound of a voice That isn't mine. But all I have is this screen That connects me to the outside world, But leaves me feeling so alone.

I miss the simple things, Like hugs and laughter, The feeling of the sun on my face, The freedom to roam.

But for now, I must stay put, And wait for this to pass. I'll find a way to carry on, Until the day at last I can step outside and feel alive again.

"A New Normal"

We've learned to live with fear and doubt, To stay apart and wear a mask. We've learned to adapt and figure things out, To find a new normal in this daunting task.

We've learned to shop online and stay in touch, To rely on technology for a human fix. We've learned to be grateful for the little things, And to cherish every moment, no matter how small or fleeting.

We've learned to appreciate the things we took for granted, Like hugs and gatherings, and the simple joy of being. We've learned to find the strength within ourselves, To face each day with hope and resilience.

We've learned that we are stronger than we knew, That together, we can get through anything. We've learned that love and kindness can conquer all, And that we are all in this together, after all.

sad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Naveenkumar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.