Poets logo

The View From My Window (It's Not Home)

"There's no place like home"

By Tom WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The View From My Window (It's Not Home)
Photo by Julia Sadowska on Unsplash

The view from my room is incredible

Busy roads, cars still going at all hours

See a little peak into hundreds of lives

Without ever leaving this seat.

And when I can't sleep,

And I feel like I'm losing my mind

I sit here and watch out

And remind myself how small I am.

The view from my room will never get old.

But there's no place like home.

//

Every time I look through those glass panels

I spot something new

But I can't shake the feeling,

There's something I'm missing.

//

I miss the simple pleasures of home.

When nothing but a quiet cul-de-sac

could be seen from my window view.

I never thought I'd say it,

But here I go

I miss the old;

The old and the predictable,

The predictable and the familiar

For good, or for bad

There's no place like home.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Tom Williams

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.