Poets logo

The Very Core

just a bit off centre

By Brenton FPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
8
© https://geokansas.ku.edu/

i’m receptive

and i’m alert

i can feel it

cause it hurts

i can feel it

want to gnaw at me

i feel it to

the very core of me

i can feel it

deep inside

i can feel it

where i hide

i can feel it

rasp and saw at me

my epicentre, my chi

the very core of me

i can see it

i can hear

from deep

inside a tired jeer

i still don’t know

what i want to be

and that eats inside

the very core of me

and then there

are the things

that this bout of apathy

seldomly brings

i don’t want to know

i don’t want to see

things inside i despise

the very core of me

these cold moments bring

a very sobering chill

expect that i choose

not to die on this hill

i don't know if i can take

anymore of me

a small volt just to jolt

the very core of me

i had it together

at least once or twice

held lost by a will

easily given to vice

it’s so much easier

to let it all slip

and simply not be

but that would destroy

the very core of me

.

.

an up note,

and then fadeout

sad poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary
8

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Whoaaaa, this was awesomeeee! Powerful and relatable as well! Oh and I love your bio!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Sick poem! Terrific song. Don’t thing I know that group but reminiscent of some other groups from the 90s. Do you just do stream of consciousness and whatever flows? Or do you plan your pieces..

  • exit, stage right. You are on fire, my friend. Another excellent piece

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.