Poets logo

The Valley

#VocalNPM

By Mireille LouisPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the valley I lay my head to rest

beside the coolness of the tall trees

The breeze hits me like the gentle ripples of the stream on a hot summer’s day

I am happy

I am free

I am dreaming now, soft and warm

pleasant dreams of birds singing and the taste of marula fruit on my tongue

it wets my hands as I eat from its flesh

Sweet nectar slips down my fingers and drips to the ground forming ripples unseen

and running quickly through the jungle my feet as light as air

I rise

above the thick green trees

past the birds singing delightfully

I rise

arms outstretched to receive the warmth of the sun

I awaken, back in the valley, back to the coolness of the tall trees

and the gentle breeze

I am happy

I am free.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mireille Louis

I am an aspiring author and poet. I go with the flow of life and like to keep a positive mindset.

Find me on IG: @mimibobini

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.